RSS Feed

The Solo Hike

Posted on

This weekend, I went out on a solo hike.  I have done a few solo hikes, but usually my husband and I go together.  Although he is patient with my obsessive and fairly inept picture-taking while we hike, I always rush it because I know he wants to keep moving.  This time, I hiked and hiked, but stopped whenever I saw something that caught my eye.  I am always fascinated when there are funny textures, interesting lines, or bright colors in the post winter scenery.  I guess we are officially still in winter, but there was so much new life “springing” up that I have mentally changed seasons.  Here is a little Spring for you.

A few little leaves curling out of the ground.

Here are some of the beautiful lines and textures that I was referring to.

I love the curve of the trail where it meets the horizon. The tree branches also seemed to flow like electricity into the sky.

I just love fuzzy plants.

One of my favorite things on the path reminded me of a quote that I just used when I posted some new purple earrings.

“I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it.”  – Alice Walker, author

These reddish-purple stems were all over on this particular trip.  They look more red in the photos, but in person, there was much more purple.

In person, this looked like a purple twig fountain. Does anyone know what these reddish-purple plants are?

I’m so glad that I chose to go on that inspirational solo hike.  It shouldn’t be a surprise to you to see some new nature inspired designs in my etsy shop over the next few weeks, months, years, etc.  I think that it is an endless source of inspiration.

What inspires you?

Leave a Reply

