RSS Feed

Life Lessons Learned from a Year in Business

Posted on

It usually takes me more than three weeks to prepare a good impromptu speech. ~Mark Twain

Last week, January 5th to be exact, I celebrated the one year anniversary of my Handcrafted Jewelry Design Business, McCloud Designs.  Throughout the year, I’ve learned many lessons, about business, about life, about design, about taxes (ew!) about SEO (search engine optimization) and about blogging.  This list is by no means exhaustive.  Over the next four weeks, I’d like to share some of the life lessons that I learned with you.  For this week I want to focus on planning ahead.

Learning the lesson of planning ahead came as an afterthought. So many times over the course of this year, I realized what needed to be done only by the time it was too late to plan for it.  This lead to some missed opportunities.  Not to worry, I am set to go with my yearly planner for 2012 and 2013.  This way I can pick the opportunities that I want to take advantage of and leave behind the ones that are not so important.  Do I want to be featured in a magazine?  I have to prepare  materials to send to the editors well in advance.  Am I having a sale? I need to get the word out (in advance).  Is a gift giving holiday coming up?  I need to make enough jewelry to have on hand.  These are just a few of the things that I learned over the year.

I think we often let opportunities in life slip past us because we are not prepared.  For example, many people don’t go on vacations that they really want because they never plan to save for the vacation.  If they decide at the last-minute to go, despite a lack of planning, it is never quite as rewarding… tickets cost more, hotels are booked… “oops, its hurricane season here and I forgot to pack my poncho”.  Unplanned vacations like this only leave you broke in the rain.

A necklace perfect for the traveller. It can help you remember to plan for your next vacation and when you get to the airport, you don't have to take it off to go through security.

I encourage you to learn the lesson from me and begin to plan for opportunities in your life.  What are some things in your “bucket list”?  If you don’t plan for them to happen, they probably never will.  Come back next week for more life lessons learned from a year in business.

Now… go plan to live!

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for this wonderful posts and congratulations on your 1 year business anniversary. I am hopeful that this year I will follow through with my plans!

    (found you via handmade wed. blog hop)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

