RSS Feed

A Blooming Christmas Countdown – Week 4

“Thousands of Candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened.  Happiness never decreases by being shared” – Siddhartha Gautama

I’m pleased to share some of my happiness with you this christmas season!  Over the course of this week, Mrs. Christmas Cactus has been working very, very hard.  I need to finish a final exam myself, so I’ll just post the pictures and a few captions so you can see.  There are many photos… I couldn’t decide.  Make sure to scroll all the way down, so you don’t miss the best ones.

The first bud begins to open.

A few more follow along.

Mrs. Christmas Cactus with her fellow blooming neighbors, Mr. Crown of Thorns and Miss African Violet. There are so many blooms in my house right now that if it wasn't for the Christmas Tree (and the snow outside), I'd think it was spring.

If you didn’t notice, there is also a fourth plant in the background.  My husband gave me a mini rose plant for Valentine’s Day in February and I have been attempting to keep it alive since March.  If anyone has any rose tips, let me know.  In the meantime, I think a name might help.  So I’ll call her ‘petal’.

Back to the pictures:

This one sort of looks like a Dodo bird beak.

Here is Mr. Crown of Thorns' bloom that opened this week as well. Miss African Violet insisted on being in the photo.

More and More Blooms are opening, but there are still lots of small buds for the next few weeks.

The first bloom is fully opened!

Keep going!  The best is yet to come!

You can see the outline of the top of the christmas tree in this one.

There are so many blooms that she can barely hold herself up.

Isn't this one gorgeous?!?!

It seems to be blooming on one half. Maybe the other buds are waiting for Christmas.

And one more!

I hope you are enjoying the countdown along with the rest of your holiday preparations.  Are you ready for Christmas?  What cookies are you baking?  Do you have any decorations with special meaning?  Please feel free to share the things that make your holiday special.

One response »

  1. Wow, it always seems to me that our plants thrive when we are thriving….
    Love, Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

